Brad Evans Award Remains Huge Part of US Elite Program

Each December at the US Elite Kickoff Dinner the annual Brad Evans award is given to the player in the US Elite organization (nominated by his head coach) who has demonstrated the qualities the program has set forth as its core values; Attitude, Hustle, Commitment, Loyalty, Character, Integrity, Honesty and Academics. For the first time ever, multiple players won the award. Logan Mathieu (2017, Liberty University), Scott Prutting (2017 grad) and Brandon Miller (2017 grad and St. Johns commit) all won the award on December 3rd in York, PA.

Brad Evans played in the program in 2010 and was a role model player. Tragically in the fall of 2010 Evans took his own life. Many people who were familiar with Brad believe numerous concussions may have lead to suicide and some studies suggest there may be a link. Read article HERE.

US Elite Director, Mark Helsel, said the impact of Evan’s death has made a profound and lasting impact on him, and the organization. “We loved Brad dearly and still miss him. Brad’s parents suffered an unimaginable loss. I told them that I would continue to raise the awareness of concussions and caution our players to not take them lightly. Concussions are serious injuries. The Brad Evans Award is a big part of our program and will continue to be as long as I am the Director of the program”.

US Elite head coaches nominate a player from their team for each season of the year. This 2016 season list of nominations were:

12U Spring-Mason Abromitis
12U Summer-Sabien Rivera and Colin Ahr
13U Fall-Mason Morris
13U Spring-Logan Ott
13U Summer-Alex Hlivia and Billy Gerlot
14U Fall-Jack Morris
15U Summer-Nate Hodgkinson
2019’s Summer-Julian Bailey
2019’s Fall-Will Carlone
2020’s Fall-Chad Reichold
Elite Prospects Fall-Jayson Kramer
2018’s Summer-Troy LaNeve
2018’s Fall-JP Murphy
17U Summer-Dylan Armson
17U Fall-Tyler Simpson
Team Majestic-Summer-Scott Prutting and Christian Friberg
Team Majestic-Fall- Brandon Miller and Logan Mathieu

Helsel added the Brad Evans award is very significant at US Elite. “Obviously, we are honoring Brad with this award. However, we are also recognizing players in our organization who are doing a great job, both on and off the field. I’m equally proud of all the players who were nominated, not just the winners. Certainly, Logan, Scotty and Brandon have been exemplary players in our program and great role models. Their leadership and commitment to excellence has been outstanding”.

Previous winners of the award are:
2013- Parker Lynn
2014-Chad Luensmann
2015-Will Lozinak

Mark Helsel and Logan Mathieu

Mark Helsel and Brandon Miller

Mark Helsel and Scott Prutting